innerlight

What does recovery mean? | One in Four Magazine

4 Comments

We all think we know what recovery is and what it would look like, but do we? Seaneen Molloy explores

We are told that recovery from mental health difficulty is possible – probable, even. The people we are exhorted to admire, from Stephen Fry to Ruby Wax, are people who have recovered from mental illness. ‘Look!’ they seem to say and by they I mean everybody; from the medical profession to mental health charities. ‘Their lives are great now! Yours can be too! You can recover!’

Recovery. It’s the buzzword. I believe recovery is possible, too. But what does recovery actually mean? That is a question I have been exploring in my own life.

via What does recovery mean? | One in Four Magazine.

Author: innerlight

A capricorn horse. Creative dreamer, over thinker. bpd, insecure attachment and any other labels for deep and chronic wounds and other gifts of brilliance that propel intense and eclectic lives and make for good art. We are high needs and high return, all the way, all the way. Surrender, integration, repair, rebuild, connect, create, evolve. Deeply.

4 thoughts on “What does recovery mean? | One in Four Magazine

  1. Pingback: What does recovery mean? | One in Four Magazine | Tina R. Libhart

  2. Is there anywhere i can read the most recent posts to this site across all categories? I have seen on other blog sites where there is a list right on the Homepage of most recent posts so i don’t have to search thru all the blog entries looking for them.

    ( i know im supposed to get links for recent posts emailed to me but it would be nice to be able to come to the Homepage here and click on some links.)

    Thanks.

  3. I’m just in the middle of finishing my unofficial Will and Testament sorta kinda to my parents via email. And I was looking up what, if any, does the government pay out on a suicide. I have life insurance of course, but I really don’t want a fuss. Just burn the corpse, and dump the ashes on the beach to be carried back into the tide. Apparently funeral pyres are just not legal.

    Any road, during my research into this (I was told death benefits from the government are 10k?) I saw what you wrote on “Speak Out On Suicide” for CTV News.

    And reading what you had written briefly describing your experience was like that sensation when you look at someone else’s handwriting but could swear it was yours. It’s that familiar.

    I have my exit plan in place and am just making sure I have things lined up legally speaking to ease the burden on my family and also because I know there are good days. But the thought of telling my psychiatrist on the 8th that I’ve basically hit “fuck it” and have the means to end it and them making me wait for days or weeks in a hospital room… god no.

    How do you tell your doctor that you’ve run out of hope and you would rather die than be stuck in their facilities?

    Any advice would be most appreciated.

please leave a comment if you have enjoyed what you have read. thanks for visiting.

