innerlight

government-funded mental health care for BPD in bc, canada

9 Comments

When I saw my family doctor the other day, I told her that I was unclear and concerned about my care plan at my local mental health branch of the

logo-viha

British Columbia, Canada

Vancouver Island Health Authority (government funded mental health facility, referred to as VIHA). Her response and the discussion that ensued was one of the most useful conversations I have had with a medical professional here, despite the fact that it caused me to go into a dissociative state of depression, the subject of my recent post ‘authenticating my symptoms — dissociation & its ingredients. The state of dissociation from abandonment and invalidation has shifted to one of anger and activism that motivates me to write this article.

Although the stated mission of VIHA is “Serving and involving the people of the islands to maintain and improve health,” and although their website is rife with terms such as “Accountability”, “Quality of Care” and “Competence”; in my experience, which has now been confirmed by my family doctor in a generous and compassionate moment of candid honesty, treatment leading to recovery is not a realistic expectation of the services VIHA is currently able to provide.

The bottom line is that while psychotherapy and, in the case of BPD, DBT in its true and traditional format, have proven themselves to be the most effective in recovery from mental health issues and addiction; in BC, mental health patients pay for therapy themselves. Furthermore, professional therapists who are privately paid for, while being the most integral part of most recoveries, do not have the authority to sign government paperwork to qualify a person for (short-term orlong-term) disability support. So who does have this authority? The word “authority” in VIHA implies that VIHA does.

R. Sponsel's 'Tree of Psychotherapy'

R. Sponsel's 'Tree of Psychotherapy'

So, if VIHA is not offering the therapy that leads to recovery, what are they offering? The answer that my own personal experience of VIHA has provided so far, and which was emulated by the candid conclusions of my doctor, is that VIHA provides a monitoring and reporting service to the BC Ministry of Social Development’s program of Social and Disability Assistance.

This conclusion is not meant to dis-credit VIHA for the fact that it does provide immediate, critical care to people in crisis. Relative to the rest of the world, I don’t view it as any small grace that there is a crisis line, short-term emergency hospitalization and crisis counseling available to people in crisis. The area of care I am examining in this article is how a person with limited financial means who has been through a crisis, or experiences a cycle of crisis’ in their lives, finds long-term treatment and recovery for themselves. My point is that finding these services is not as straight forward as VIHA seems to imply; that actually, VIHA and related government services currently offer little in the goal of long-term recovery and sustainable well-being.

My doctor supported my conclusion that my contact with VIHA services serves one sole purpose that does not include the therapeutic experience of healing that I had been expecting and waiting for. The purpose of my sporatic and intermittent visits with the “case worker” every few weeks is to maintain my connection with the BC Ministry of Social Development, ensuring that there is an official representative who is able to speak on the most basic and generic level to my qualifications for financial support.

I acknowledge here that recovery is a very individual process, and that for some people, my local VIHA branch’s day program, based on Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, is a novel and useful experience in self-awareness that therefore has a positive effect on their mental health by initiating a new way of experiencing themselves and their lives. I celebrate this, and yet at the same time, I do not fit into this category of patients, as a person with BPD and as someone with a lifetime of experience in personal growth. I have been utilizing personal growth and awareness techniques and alternative health practices for most of my life, which is what allowed me to survive thus far in my life; but these things did not prevent me from attempting to end my life 6 months ago, ending up in the psych ward and being diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. While it has been a genuine breakthrough and an integral piece of validation for me to receive these diagnosis’ in their inherent acknowledgement of deeply rooted patterns of self-sabotage, this is only the first step in recovering from these things; I have been proceeding since with the expectation that VIHA could offer the treatment of these “conditions”, and it is this expectation that I have now concluded to be unrealistic.

Fellow bloggers and the authors of all the BPD recovery books I have been reading (e.g. Rachel Reiland’s ‘Get Me Out of Here’, Kiera Van Gelder’s ‘The Buddha and the Borderline’, and Jerold J. Kreisman and Hal Straus’ ‘I Hate You, Don’t Leave Me’) — seem to have access somehow (through government-funded services or their own financial means) to group therapy programs at their local hospitals, and individual psycho-or Dialectical Behavior Therapy based therapy sessions several times per week, my reality is drastically different. The “free” services available to me are crisis management and intervention and intermittent therapy sessions with an assigned case worker who is supported by a professional psychiatrist and psychologist who serve as consultants for all the case workers at my local mental health branch. The realization that is key for me is that my case worker a) is not available with enough frequency and b) is not qualified to provide me with the intensive experience of DBT or transference that has healed so many fellow sufferers of BPD in other parts of the world.

Connections I have made with others in my position have revealed that recovery from mental illness here in BC is one of synergistic, miraculous connections with “the right” counselor who may not be qualified to sign the government forms for social assistance, but who is able to make a difference in the long-term stability and well-being (recovery) of the patient. The other day, I heard a story of a renowned psychologist who offered his services free-of-charge to an acquaintance of mine who has been in recovery for over a decade, seeing addictions and mental health case workers and counselors while being unable to work.

'Angel of Universal Love' by Tome & Renee West

'Angel of Universal Love' by Tome & Renee West

So where would we be, as a community of borderline and ptsd patients here in BC without the spontaneous kindness of such doctors and the seemingly miraculous connections we make with peers and alternative healing techniques? This is a question that VIHA may want to ponder and acknowledge in their presentation of services. In my current position, VIHA is my connection to government financial assistance; but the real healing will take place through what I have come to believe as the grace of a higher power and the resulting synergy of the connections I am able to make with others on authentic paths of recovery that cannot be served by the current health care system.

I think it is a rare case that healing comes easily to anyone, anywhere in the world. This is not something that you can google, get the information and take the pill for; it is not offered as a 2 for 1 special at Wal-Mart, and there is no representative icon to click on, on any website. Regardless of available resources of knowledge, finances and personnel, no external force can be our guiding light; no one system can truly meet the needs of individual well-being, and that is perhaps the most difficult and integral part of any person’s recovery — becoming authentically aware of the resources within ourselves and the people we encounter when we begin to live authentically. In this world of instant gratification that seems to disregard and attempt to control the underlying mystery force that truly governs our existence, we must embark on the underground journey to find the universal well of compassion and support that is available to all of us in our search for fulfillment, happiness and well-being.

Author: innerlight

A capricorn horse. Creative dreamer, over thinker. bpd, insecure attachment and any other labels for deep and chronic wounds and other gifts of brilliance that propel intense and eclectic lives and make for good art. We are high needs and high return, all the way, all the way. Surrender, integration, repair, rebuild, connect, create, evolve. Deeply.

9 thoughts on “government-funded mental health care for BPD in bc, canada

  1. Pingback: embracing the self-saboteur « underground

  2. Thank you so much for this post, this is what I so needed today and this past week. You are truly one of the synergistic things that have happened for me and I really want to thank you.

  3. I’m so glad, birdsong 🙂 and thanks for the feedback.
    Are you still up for a little road trip tomorrow eve?

  4. We have a great support group that I formed over two and a half years ago for people with BPD and their family members, friends, partners. You are very welcome to go. Not sure if you have been before.

    It is tonight actually. Every first and third wednesday at 7-930 at 941 kings rd.

    Have a nice day.
    Bpdsupportgroup.wordpress.com

    • Hey, thanks for visiting Baylie. Nice to see you here in cyberland. Yes, I have been coming, so you know me, and I will see you tonight :))) I have also mentioned our group here on this blog, in my related post ‘Journey of Healing Part 1’ at the very end:

      DBT PROGRAMS IN VICTORIA, BC:

      South Island VIHA

      I have also since been in touch with the South Island branch of VIHA, and learned that they do offer a limited program of DBT through their Urgent Short Term Assessment and Treatment (USTAT) division. What I know so far is that it’s a year long program; they have just closed intake for the next session, and they only communicate intake periods with facilities and professionals within their region (South Island), which is why their program was not offered to me as a resident of the Cowichan Valley. I spoke with a woman named Elizabeth there, who was compassionate and willing to investigate how I might be able to participate in the program regardless.

      New Light Recovery Workshop

      The Overwhelming Emotions Support Group I mentioned earlier also offer a peer-led 18-week DBT program called the New Light Recovery Workshop The program is free, by funding from the United Way, with intakes in the spring and fall of each year.

      Thanks for reading, and as always, I welcome and enjoy your comments, questions and feedback.

      Blessings be. Underground.

  5. Dear heartjunky, thanks for sharing your pain and your practical info on finding DBT therapy on the island. I have a borderline adult (young though) daughter with bpd and I very much appreciate your candour and assessment of VIHA and how it works with BC Health. Trying to figure out if Vancouver is a better option? Good luck on your journey of healing.
    J.

    • Hi J,
      Wow, it’s been 2 years since I wrote this posting. What a great opportunity for reflection :))) I have remained on the Island, and did manage to find a very skilled psychiatrist and colleague who have stuck with me and honoured my own rhythm for healing. I count my blessings every day. I would call him “dbt based” in his approach, as well as slightly spiritual. That, along with the regular and supportive contact of my 12-step community, and another alternative healing modality as well has brought me to this day. I am drug free and have not been suicidal for 3 weeks following my first break-through hypnotherapy session. It took me all this time to relax enough and trust enough to stop fearing abandonment, and really go somewhere in the session. There have been lots of ups, downs and diagnosis in the interim, and there is no guarantee about how it will go from here. One day at a time continues to be the best frame of mind for me to be in. One of the biggest questions in my view is whether or not you take the stance that it is a chemical imbalance in the brain, or a result of trauma in our early childhood and/or adult lives. Both these stances seem to demand completely different treatment paths.
      Thanks for visiting and for writing me, J, and I send you and your daughter all my blessings. My experience is only one of so many possibilities, but if it can serve in any further way, please don’t hesitate to ask.
      — Innerlight (formerly heartjunky)

  6. A lot of the therapies categorized under “Educational Kinesiology” help with various mental illness diagnoses. Im really likng Brain Gym at the moment. It is a series of movements and exercises designed to make the left and right sides of the brain work together better thus better emotional regulation results. I find it calming. Used for kids with Autism and Dyslexia. Check out Youtube.

please leave a comment if you have enjoyed what you have read. thanks for visiting.

