innerlight

reconciliation / amends

5 Comments

forgiveness collage

This afternoon, I was inspired by a brief interaction with someone from my past whom I have worked very hard to forgive. A few minutes after the interaction, I wrote this mini forgiveness manual for myself. I hope i remember to check back here the next time I need to forgive someone.

(HP = higher power in 12-step recovery language)

  1. I thank our HP’s for bringing us together to learn, and for all the good things about our experience together.
  2. I pray for the shortcomings of mine revealed in our relating to be removed by my HP.
  3. I pray for the need to continue re-enforcing my negative core beliefs to be removed by my HP.
  4. I forgive myself and I forgive you for the humanity we lived.
  5. I pray for your continued growth, happiness, health and well-being, like all human beings on this planet, especially those of us in recovery.
Author: innerlight

A capricorn horse. Creative dreamer, over thinker. bpd, insecure attachment and any other labels for deep and chronic wounds and other gifts of brilliance that propel intense and eclectic lives and make for good art. We are high needs and high return, all the way, all the way. Surrender, integration, repair, rebuild, connect, create, evolve. Deeply.

5 thoughts on “reconciliation / amends

  1. good to visit your updated site
    i identify with your “forgiveness” prayers
    my experience has been
    that only prayer may bring relief
    from what it is that holds me back

  2. well put, Wil. if there was one single most important, comforting, and constantly-needed reminder for me, it would be to pray.

  3. Excellent list!

  4. Pingback: step four — july to november 2010, the nose of the ship begins to go under « underground

please leave a comment if you have enjoyed what you have read. thanks for visiting.

