innerlight

what is mental illness

Leave a comment

In short, it’s only a label for a certain experience of life.

But the role that such a label plays:

  1. To offer additional support to those who struggle to lead healthy lives and experience well-being due to emotional and/or psychological intensity.
  2. Naming emotional states also helps to identify and recognize them. By doing this, I can choose to manage myself accordingly, and reduce the harm these states may cause to my well-being.
  3. Illuminates the fact that I am not alone in the patterns and cycles I experience, and sheds light on them.
  4. Helps me to be gentle on myself.
  5. Helps others to understand me.

I guess one could resent the word “illness”. It’s more like an emotional / psychological reality I find myself in, having led the life I have led, with the personality I have. Maybe more later.

Author: innerlight

A capricorn horse. Creative dreamer, over thinker. bpd, insecure attachment and any other labels for deep and chronic wounds and other gifts of brilliance that propel intense and eclectic lives and make for good art. We are high needs and high return, all the way, all the way. Surrender, integration, repair, rebuild, connect, create, evolve. Deeply.

please leave a comment if you have enjoyed what you have read. thanks for visiting.

